CampRate.com

Micki's Reviews

Antietam Hagerstown KOA

Listed in Western

(301) 223-7571

11759 Snug Harbor Ln., Williamsport, MD 21795, USA

Reviewed on May 23, 2013. #1 of 1 Reviews

My husband and I haven't camped in a KOA for years, but this one was right in the area of MD we wanted and was advertised to be far from the highway, so we decided to give it a try. We have been impressed! It is a very lovely campground. Clean bathrooms and showers, well-supplied store, lovely landscaping, very quiet, level sites, very friendly and polite folks, and, the neatest of all -- a doggie playground. Have been camping for over 30 years and have NEVER seen that before. They're always playgrounds for the kids, why not for the dogs? The not so nice stuff -- the sites are a bit small (we were there for a week so we parked in the next sight when it was empty). It's nice to have free WiFi at our site, but it is slow and we were unable to get work done. Overall, we definitely would recommend this KOA. Other reviewers commented that it was not a good campground for large RVs. Our trailer is only 20' but we sure did see some gigantic rigs during the week we were there. Maybe they just made reservations in advance to get the pull-through sites?

Gettysburg Campground

Listed in South Central

717 334-3304

2030 Fairfield Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA

Reviewed on August 28, 2012. #1 of 4 Reviews

Very nice, clean campground. Our site (55) was very nice although at times a bit buggy near the stream. The site to our left (54) was ridiculously small but fortunately it remained empty throughout the week, so we had even more room. Bathrooms were clean (free) with plenty of hot water. The campground is primarily gravel. Some sites are delineated only by yellow lines. The free WiFi was fine. We were there from Monday – Saturday. By Friday the place was packed cheek to jowl—so avoid weekends if you can.

Seashore Campsites

Listed in Skylands

(609) 884-4010

720 Seashore Road, Cape May, NJ 08204, USA

Reviewed on October 24, 2011. #1 of 1 Reviews

My husband and I have been going to Seashore Campground every October for 11 years. We love the atmosphere and the solitude we find there. Now, of course, we are not there in the summer or on a holiday weekend. We camp way in the back (at the end of Holly Lane) so we stay away from others. The bathrooms need some work. They're a bit weary and the water pressure and temperature aren't always the greatest. Seashore is one of our favorite camping grounds.

Peaceful Valley Campground

Listed in Catskills

(607) 363-2211

485 Banker Rd., Downsville, NY 13755, USA

Reviewed on September 26, 2011. #1 of 9 Reviews

I need to preface this review by saying that we were at Peaceful Valley Campground for the NEAT (Northeast Electric Aircraft Technology) Fair. This is a one-a-year event for electric model aircraft. It’s the largest event like this in the US and, and more than likely, worldwide. There were 374 registered pilots and over 1,000 visitors and hundreds of campers. The area is beautiful having the campground nestled in a valley. It’s also huge. Arnie Baker did a good job getting everyone to their site. He’s hired extra help to keep the bathrooms clean although there were some shower issues. One evening I tried 5 shower stalls until I got one to work. Either the coin receptacle was jammed or the timer started but no water came out of the faucet. Overall, the bathrooms are fine with the nicer one near the office. Due to the valley, cell phone connection is iffy. There’s no internet connection although if you try to link up you can see the service for “Peaceful Valley Aerodrome” but you need the pass word to enter. When I checked with the office, the gal stated that that is the connection for the house. I don’t know why Arnie doesn’t offer WiFi. I guess we’ve just gotten accustomed to it at campgrounds, either free or for a charge. Now, if you want to just go there to camp don’t try to find a site map on the website—there isn’t any because there are no sites as we campers expect to see. Instead, there are rows of hookups-water, electricity and sewer. Campers park along these rows, nose to tail and fairly close side to side. (See photos) For the event we attended, that was fine but for a camping vacation—no go for us. Of course, with the campground as large as it is you probably wouldn’t have someone near you unless it is a very busy weekend.

Don Laine Campground

Listed in Northeast

610 381-3381

790 57 Drive, Palmerton, PA 18071, USA

Reviewed on July 24, 2011. #1 of 4 Reviews

My husband and I camped at Don Laine last August and returned this July. We stayed at site B-17 which has a great view of the valley. It is a very nice campground. As with last year, Pen-Tel Internet service was still not the user friendliest but it does work. They still need to keep the bathroom a bit cleaner. Ran out of towels again for two days. We would love to return there in the fall.

Don Laine Campground

Listed in Northeast

610 381-3381

790 57 Drive, Palmerton, PA 18071, USA

Reviewed on July 24, 2011. #1 of 4 Reviews

My husband and I camped at Don Laine last August and returned this July. We stayed at site B-17 which has a great view of the valley. It is a very nice campground. As with last year, Pen-Tel Internet service was still not the user friendliest but it does work. They still need to keep the bathroom a bit cleaner. Ran out of towels again for two days. We would love to return there in the fall.

Pomona Rv Park & Campground

Listed in Greater Atlantic City

609-965-2123

536 Pomona Rd, Pomona, NJ 08240, USA

Reviewed on June 20, 2011. #1 of 1 Reviews

This is the second time we camped at Pomona RV Park and Campground. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. They have owned the place for five years and continue to make improvements. The restrooms are very clean but weary. Overall, the park is small and the location is a bit noisy--road, airport and railroad noise. Our biggest complaint is the internet service. It was horrible on Saturday when many folks were there. When the place cleared out by Sunday afternoon, the service improved considerably. My husband, who is a computer tech, assumed that the router just couldn't handle the traffic. We should have spoken to the owners but since we were only there a few days, we didn't bother.

Pamona RV Park & Campground

Listed in Shore

(609) 965-2123

536 South Pomona Road, Pomona, NJ 08240, USA

Reviewed on October 21, 2010. #1 of 1 Reviews

The campground is small but has most wanted amenities. The owners are very accommodating and cordial. It is located ajacent to the Atlantic City airport but fligths are irregular, so the noise isn't constant. We camped the first weekend in May and the yellow pollen from the oak trees was horrible!! We would visit again BUT not in early May!

Atlantic City Blueberry Hill

Listed in Shore

609-652-1644

283 Clarks Landing Rd, Port Republic, NJ 08242, USA

Reviewed on October 21, 2010. #1 of 1 Reviews

The campground staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great site for our four-night stay. It was large, shaded and located at the end of the street so it was quite. As with most NJ seashore campgrounds, it wasn't grassy so I was glad we had an outdoor rug. Most of the grassy sites are sunny and after a heavy rain, they were flooded. The bathrooms and showers (plenty of hot water) were clean but a bit weary and had small stalls. The bathrooms did get whiffy later in the day but it was pretty hot when we were there. I may be a bit prissy but I do like to have a private dressing area. Neither of the bathhouses had one. The main roads are "beach sand" which, you can say, adds to the ambiance of the park. It also slows the traffic. The ice cream shop is a nice treat on a hot summer's day!! Overall, it was a nice campground and we plan to return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Baker’s Acres Campground, Inc.

Listed in Shore

609-296-2664

230 Willets Avenue, Parkertown, NJ 08087, USA

Reviewed on September 26, 2010. #1 of 1 Reviews

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Baker’s Acres. The site (#11) was very spacious, shady and private (see picture). The office staff was friendly and helpful. We camp in a tent trailer so we use the campground’s facilities. The main bathroom was clean. The alternate bathhouse is a bit rustic but still clean. The showers had good water pressure and plenty of hot water and they are free. We were there the weekend of their annual pig roast. Our campsite was directly across from the cabins and we had some noisy young folks near us. They were very loud on Friday evening until quiet hours (11:00). Our only real complaint was the mediocre internet access. At times it just didn’t exist. When we did have access, it was very slow. Sometimes we had to go out of the camper to get on line. We recommend this campground but unless you really want to have some roasted pig and don’t mind the noise, don’t go the 3rd weekend in September!
Skip to toolbar