CampRate.com

Sagadahoc Bay Campground

Added by pkosalka

7 reviews

A unique place, Sagadahoc Bay Campground has 48 sites and 4 cabins allowing for a smaller community with something for everyone. All sites on Molly Point have an unobstructed view of Sequin Island Light with 30 or 50 amp service and water with the dump station conveniently located at the entrance to Molly Point and a Honey Wagon to use when your stay is longer. Some of the tent sites are on the ocean, others have ocean views, others have platforms with electricity and all tent sites have running water, a picnic table and a fire ring. Our cabins sleep 4 to 6 people and are considered complete housekeeping units. They all have satellite television, toasters, coffee makers, pots, pans, dishes and utensils. Linens are provided for a cost of $25 and an out door barbecue grill is provided at no cost.

If you come to Maine to enjoy a good Maine lobster (pronounced lobstahh in Maine), than this is the spot for you. We offer lobsters cooked and delivered to your site for as low as $6.50 a pound (islanders refer to as Boat price as of 2011) or alive and kicking and ready for the pot, the choice is yours. And, if you don’t want to dig clams for your dinner, just ask Eric, he will be happy to dig you a pound or two (for a price.) You can obtain fire wood, ice and clams at the office as well as guest clam licenses for the adventurous would be clammer.



Email: info@sagbaycamping.com

Phone: 207-371-2014

Fax: 207-371-9123

Max RV Length: 45

Max Amps: 50

Check-in Time: 12:00 noon

Check-out Time: 10:00 am

Latitude/Longitude: 44 00.0 W , 43 46 00.0 N69

Total Sites: 58

Camping Season: May - 1 to Nov - 1


Amenities

  • tenting
  • store
  • swimming pool
  • fishing
  • lp gas
  • modem connection
  • pullthrus
  • sewer hookups
  • laundry
  • other swimming
  • rentals
  • pets
  • cable tv
  • lodging
  • dump station
  • recreation hall
  • boating
  • group area
  • phone hookups
  • slideouts
  • wi-fi

Directions

Sagadahoc Bay Campground is located at the southern tip of Georgetown Island, nestled at the head of beautiful Sagadahoc Bay. Traveling North From The Boston Area: 495/95 North to Portland, Maine. Exit 44 Portland or 52 Falmouth to 295 North to either Brunswick or Topsham Exit 28 Brunswick or 31 Topsham to Rt. 1 to Bath Cross the Kennebec River Bridge and take first right just in front of the Dairy Queen. (Best to get into the right hand lane coming across the bridge.) You are now on Rt. 127 South heading to Georgetown and Reid State Park. Follow the signs about 9 miles. In Georgetown, take a right on Bay Point Road, and travel about 2.2 miles and take a left on Sagadahoc Bay Road. Follow the signs to the office. Call us at 207-371-2014 if you think you’re lost. Traveling South From Canada: If you are on 95, you should get off in Gardner and take 295 South to exit 31Topsham. Take a left at the intersection heading to Brunswick and Bath. On Rt. 1 you will be going North, and follow the directions above. If you are traveling South on Rt. 1, take a right exit to Georgetown that is Rt. 127 South. (If you take a right at the Cumberland Farms you will be going North on 127 and you will be heading in the wrong direction.) Follow the directions above from the Dairy Queen.


Reservation Info

All INTERNATIONAL reservations must be paid in full at the time the reservation is made. All USA reservations a deposit of 50% is required to reserve all sites and must be paid at the time the reservation is made. All balances are due upon registration. There are NO REFUNDS for any reason once you have checked in. All transactions are final. The State of Maine has a 7% lodging tax that will be added to all rates. For holiday reservations, all site fees must be paid at the time the reservation is made. Holiday reservations include Memorial Day weekend, July 4th week, and Labor Day weekend. There are NO REFUNDS for cancellations made at anytime prior to the arrival date of a holiday. If a check is used, the site will not be secured until the check has cleared.


Pet Policy

Pets should be on a leash at all times and should remain tied or able to respond to commands that will not allow your pet to extend off the site in any direction. Pets should never be left unattended. When walking your pet, please keep it on a short leach. All pet droppings shall be the responsibility of the pet owner. We expect you to clean up after your pet. All pets should have proper papers for vaccinations to be presented to the campground owner if requested. If any pet is creating a disturbance or being a nuisance, the pet owner will be asked to remove his or her pet from the campground. No more than 2 pets are allowed on one site without the campground approval. Visitors or guests are not permitted to bring pets with them to the campground. Children shall not be allowed to walk pets. No pets are allowed in the bathroom.


Pricing Info

Prices range from $26 to $54 a night for tent and rv sites based on their location. Cottages begin at $109 to $135 based on their location. 50% of the charge is due upon booking the reservation on all customers within the USA. 100% of the charge is due upon booking for all international customers.


Cancellation Policy

Holiday Cancellations No REFUND is allowed for cancellation of a holiday reservation any time prior to arrival date. Holidays include Memorial Day, July 4th week, and Labor Day. All Other Cancellations Cancellations received 45 days prior to arrival date will receive a full refund, except for holiday reservations (see above). Cancellations received 44 to 16 days prior to arrival date will be charged a $30.00 cancellation fee that is deducted from the deposit. Cancellations received 15 days or less prior to arrival date will receive NO REFUND. Changes in dates any closer than 45 days prior to arrival will be charged a $15.00 change fee.



Weather

Chance of Rain
Friday 06/02/2017 50%
Chance of Rain
Mostly sunny early. Increasing clouds with showers this afternoon. Thunder possible. High 64F. Winds SW at 10 to 15 mph. Chance of rain 50%.
Partly Cloudy
Saturday 06/03/2017 20%
Partly Cloudy
Partly cloudy. Slight chance of a rain shower. High 64F. Winds NW at 5 to 10 mph.
Mostly Cloudy
Sunday 06/04/2017 20%
Mostly Cloudy
Partly cloudy skies in the morning will give way to cloudy skies during the afternoon. Slight chance of a rain shower. High 64F. Winds SW at 5 to 10 mph.
Rain
Monday 06/05/2017 80%
Rain
Rain showers in the morning will evolve into a more steady rain in the afternoon. High 54F. Winds ENE at 10 to 20 mph. Chance of rain 80%.
Chance of Rain
Tuesday 06/06/2017 70%
Chance of Rain
Cloudy with occasional rain showers. Thunder possible. High 56F. Winds NE at 10 to 20 mph. Chance of rain 70%.


Tell your friends


Reviews

Overall:
Summary:

Date:

July 30, 2012

We drove past our campsite and continued to drive far away from this place. There are no signs or numbers for the sites which caused a bit of confusion. The sites are very small and extremely close to other campers. We didn't ask for refund because they are a local business with hopefully good intent. In addition, tt is also probably the most creepiest campground i've been. Their website and FB page make this place look like heaven --- but it was dirty. It looks like they are building new sites but there were no signs posted 'do not enter' -- i was sure the terrain would have messed up our car. i wish the best for this campground -- but if you are into camping -- you will not like this place. I hope the owners read this review and clean up their campground. Such a shame because it could be a really cool place. We ended up driving to our favorite campground in freeport, me. Sorry Sagadahoc... but you hardly deserve one star.

Response from Sagadahoc Bay Campground on April 21, 2015

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, when you come in at night or when it has rained...it is hard to decide what the place looks like..My web site and facebook page are real and exactly what you see. You must have had blinders on because you did not see the beauty of the ocean from our sites!!!

  • rnc
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Summary:

Stay away!

Date:

August 22, 2011

I just read a previous review and agree- this place is awful.
And interesting enough- they also weren't happy with the "weather". We are hardy campers with over 30 nights per season- From April 1- Oct 31, this place is a dump and SO not worth the cost of the stay nor the time to drive to it.
Do yourself a favor and don't go! Find a different campground.
We didn't let this ruin our vacation- we just found a new campground in Wells- with bathrooms not porta potty's- is this even the sign of a good campground- I think not.
Feel free to return my deposit.
My one regret- I didn't think to take true pictures to post.
The website is beautiful- but doesn't represent what you'll find.
But if you want to use a porta potty and look at buildings falling down- I guess that is your choice.

Response from Sagadahoc Bay Campground on April 21, 2015

Had you taken pictures they would have told a very different story. But thanks for the review. Perhaps you could come again and take pictures this time.

Overall:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Great Place

Date:

June 26, 2011

We just returned from spending 3 days at one of the cabins at this campsite and were very impressed with our visit. I've never seen a tidal bay that you could walk for 1.5 miles at low tide which was really interesting for the kids to see/explore. We spent two afternoons on the sandy beach (which was about 1/10th of a mile across) in water that was about 80 degrees-- really rare for ME. The cabin was clean and conveniently situated for all that we wanted to see in the area. The owners were hospitable-- they've even begun a service that delivers cooked lobster to your door for $6.50/lb. We will definitely return.

Response from Sagadahoc Bay Campground on April 21, 2015

Thanks for the wonderful words.

Overall:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Date:

March 4, 2011

i stayed in a cabin at the campground with my wife 2 kids and 2 dogs.the cabin itself has a nice screeened in porch with a view of ocean . it had a small kitchen a bathroom with a shower . the cabin had bunkbeds and a nice futon for the adults. unfortunatley it rained one of the days we stayed but we were able to relax and enjoy some movies on the sat/tv in the cabin
the rest of the weekend was beautiful and we enjoyed the natural beauty of the ocean and beaches. you can rent kayaks at the office or go swimming in the warmest ocean water ive ever been in.
the campground is on a big tidal bay where you can go clamming or hiking at low water or fishing swimming and kayakin at high water
the owners of the campground are very friendly and they immediatley make you feel right at home upon meeting them
and the best part of all pets are welcome
we are definatley going to stay next year


Overall:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Was a pleasant trip

Date:

June 20, 2010

I was very disappointed in the other reviews I read about the campground. I found many of the complaints to be unsubstantiated. Many people must not understand what Ocean is in Maine. We were located on a bay which was absolutely breath taking. Although the "Ocean sites" were not exactly on the ocean were were located up a hill with a beautiful view of the bay. It was really fun to watch the tides roll in and out of the bay. The bay when emptied is great to walk along barefooted to view the native fauna and flora which existed of many variety of seaweeds, Hermit crabs, Quahog and "steamer" clams, Maine Shrimp and many types of fish. My only disappointement for myself was the roughness of the new campsites which were too close to neighbors and the need to have a permit to dig some clams. The owners should try to address this permit issue with the town so their patrons have the ability to do some light clamming. The experience would add to the overall pleasantness of the campground. I would certainly recommend this campground.

  • mrlump
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

Date:

August 20, 2006

We checked in august 18, 2006 for a 2 night stay in cabin #210. We ended up leaving after the first night. we were very disappointed in the cabin. The cabin itself was cute inside however, we feel that it was not represented accurately to us when we made our reservation. First of all, they really only sleep 4 people comfortably, not 6. True, there is a very small loft. However, 2 adults can't fit up there. 2 children may be able to, but there isn't a bed of any type, nor would an air mattress even fit up there. The website states that the cabins are located in the "wooded area of the campground", which would
lead one to believe that there they are somewhat private. The sites are so close together with no buffer from the neighboring campsite. Most of the kitchen dishes and utensils were so filthy that we had to rewash them before we used them. The water has a very strong sulfur smell that is almost nauseating. The website also states that each cabin has a "full bath". In reality there is only a toilet and a small shower that was marginally clean. The cabin itself is very un-level. In addition, when I made the reservation I asked about the proximity to the beach from the cabin and was told that it was really close by. Well, in all honesty it's about 1/4 mile walk to the beach.

We are seasoned campers and have been to many campgrounds in the past. We are just a little disheartened, because we had been planning this weekend getaway for some time now, and we just don't think we got what we paid for. $125.00 per night was a bit unjust in our opinion. We asked for our money back for the 1 night that we didn't stay but management enforced their "no refund policy".

Campers beware!

Response from Sagadahoc Bay Campground on July 24, 2011

This camper was unhappy that there were two cabins 50ft apart. camper was looking for a cabin set by itself in the woods and this was not it. The dishes being dirty was never mentioned to us because we make sure all the cabins including the dishes are cleaned when campers depart. We always offer a rain check for a different cabin, one closer to the water but this person refused. Our policy is to give refunds on a case by case basis and there was not a valid reason for a refund.

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

Date:

July 10, 2006

Don't believe the hype! The website for this location is a sham. We booked an "ocean-side" campsite, which of course is more expensive than the others, only to find we were in a messy wooded area next to a river. The beach is a 20x20 plot of dirt dumped next to the river. And the clamming you read about on the website is nonexistant, of course, you need a permit! Upon booking, the owner informed me that each site was "very private" with plenty of woods between sites. BS! We could see the five other campsites surrounding us within 20 feet. The management is clueless. We specifically booked a site that was on the water and informed the owner we would be arriving late. When we arrived, someone was already in our site!!! We had to go wake up the owner who never apologized and simply told us that "sometimes that happens". Even though they took my money and sent me an email confirmation with the site number explicitly listed on it, they told me sometimes they move people around to "maintain the integrity of...yada..yada...yada..." Save your money, this place sucks, there are some nicer campgrounds as you get closer to Boothbay. I wouldn't wish this dump on my worst enemy...Vacation ruined!

Response from Sagadahoc Bay Campground on July 24, 2011

This person insisted that we reimburse him because it was raining. we offered a rain check but he refused. There is no river here, we are directly on the ocean. Any town on the ocean requires clamming permits to clam because it is natural resource and many in Georgetown make their living clamming. This person never called that he would be arriving the next day and never arrived until 12:30 at night. Of course, we had rented his site that 2nd day. We thought he was a now show. Very hard to please.

Add Your Review

Please login to add your review.

Skip to toolbar