CampRate.com

Mohican Wilderness

Added by camprate admin

cg1-0-MohicanWilderness-1.gif
cg2-0-MohicanWilderness-2.gif

6 reviews

240 sites. Open 5-1 to 10-31. Canoe livery, horse rach vacation for youths, vacation plan for families, packaged programs for youth groups. Playground, swimming beach, store, picnic shelter, recreation hall, tubing, croquet, basketball, hayrides, fishing, mini golf, bike rental, shuffle board, nature center, craft center. Pets. Group, tent and RV camping. Seasonal sites.



Email: wilderness@ecr.net

Phone: 740-599-6741

Max Amps: 30

Check-out Time: 3pm.

Latitude/Longitude: 40.565829 , -82.199500

Total Sites: 240

Camping Season: 5/1 thru 10/31


Amenities

  • tenting
  • store
  • swimming pool
  • fishing
  • lp gas
  • modem connection
  • pullthrus
  • sewer hookups
  • laundry
  • other swimming
  • rentals
  • pets
  • cable tv
  • lodging
  • dump station
  • recreation hall
  • boating
  • group area
  • phone hookups
  • slideouts
  • wi-fi

Directions

Mohican Wilderness is conveniently located midway between Cleveland and Columbus, near Mohican State Park and Forest. From the North: Take I-71 south to Ashland exit SR 250 west. Turn onto SR 42 south, to SR 60 south. Follow SR 60 18 miles to Loudonville. Turn onto SR 3 south, then left onto Wally Rd (CR 3175). From the South: Route 62 from New Albany to Danville. Take 514 to Greer.Turn left on Wally Road for 2.5 miles.


Pet Policy

All pets, including horses, are welcome if controlled, clean, and quiet.


Campground Rules

"1. TREES - NO TREE OF ANY SIZE MAY BE CUT OR DAMAGED IN ANY WAY. 2. CHAIN SAWS - Use of chain saws and axes is prohibited. 3. FIRES - Build fires where they do not damage surrounding trees. DO NOT DIG PITS. 4. FIREARMS - Use of FIREARMS AND FIREWORKS IS PROHIBITED AT ALL TIMES 5. ANIMALS - Do not trap or kill any wild animals. This is particularly true of snakes which are harmless and beneficial. 6. PETS - All pets, including horses, are welcome if controlled, clean, and quiet. 7. GRAY WATER - All dishwater must be poured in slop drains or latrines. 8. LATRINES - Do not put anything in the latrines that you have not already eaten or drunk. 9. PICNIC TABLES - Only one table per campsite, please. 10. MOTOR BIKES, GOLF CARTS, ATV'S MINI BIKES, MOTORCYCLES ARE PROHIBITED. (Motorcycles may be driven to a site but may not be used in camp. Golf carts may be used for handicap to and from the showers or office but must be electric and used only by the person in need.) 11. TRASH - Please place trash in plastic bags. Tie bags and place on the edge of your site near the road. Pick-up is each evening around 7:00 pm. PLEASE separate your aluminum cans into a different bag. These recycled cans will be picked up and donated to a retired couple in Mansfield. 12. SOD - Do not dig up the sod to ditch tents or build fire pits. Also, do not encourage erosion by digging stairs in the river bank. 13. WASHING CARS - Do not desecrate this beautiful area by turning it into a car wash. 14. VIOLATIONS AND INCONSIDERATE CONDUCT - Please do not tolertate inconsiderate conduct by others. Report violators immediately, not the next morning after you have lost a night's sleep. Do not be a violator. (Disturbances include foul language, radios, speeding, yelling and screaming, and late night partying.) 15. APPRECIATION CARD - Pick up your appreciation card at the office. It entitles you to a discount on all subsequent camping trips this year.



Weather

Rain
Tuesday 12/06/2016 100%
Rain
Periods of rain. Temps nearly steady in the upper 30s. Winds ESE at 10 to 15 mph. Chance of rain 100%. Rainfall near a half an inch.
Partly Cloudy
Wednesday 12/07/2016 10%
Partly Cloudy
Partly cloudy skies. High 39F. Winds WSW at 5 to 10 mph.
Partly Cloudy
Thursday 12/08/2016 10%
Partly Cloudy
Cloudy skies early, followed by partial clearing. High near 30F. Winds W at 10 to 20 mph.
Overcast
Friday 12/09/2016 0%
Overcast
Cloudy skies. High 33F. Winds W at 10 to 20 mph.
Partly Cloudy
Saturday 12/10/2016 0%
Partly Cloudy
Partly cloudy skies. High 31F. Winds WSW at 5 to 10 mph.


Tell your friends


Reviews

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

Date:

July 21, 2014

This is one of the worst campgrounds we have ever tent camped at. The sites are big but they are also crawling with poison ivy, including areas where you put put your inner tubes in the river. The "bathroom" close to our site was the most disgusting one I have ever seen. It resembled a third world country and was so fly infested I wanted to vomit. The "nice" bathroom that you had to pay a quarter to use the shower for 5 minutes looked like something from the county jail and didn't look like it had been cleaned in years. The staff was rude and not helpful at all. We will NEVER camp at Mohican Wilderness again. Their website is full of lies about clean updated bathrooms and access to the shooting range.

  • tinabar
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Date:

October 19, 2011

We went there for the Oct 2011 Spectacular of Fire and Halloween Activities and I must say it was one of the best times we have had camping ever!!! Loved it and would highly recomend it. The camp ground had a lot of activities right on the premises for our 5 kids,which include candle making, put put ,hay rides, horse back riding and much more. And best of all the prices were very reasonable. We will absolutely be going back!!! I give it a 10!!!!!

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Awesome Awesome Awesome. Shame how people only post a review when they didn't have a good time.

Date:

July 17, 2010

I have been camping since childhood and have seen many different campgrounds. I now bring my family camping to Mohican Wilderness. Their quiet hours and family atmosphere are perfect for families who want to "play by day and sleep at night". I find some of the facilities need some updating but the restrooms are kept as clean as they can be for the amount of use they receive on a weekend (people are just dirty and don't care when it isn't 'their' toilet). I get the pricing...why charge a couple (2 people) the same price as a family of 4 or 6 people? As my family grows, I expect to pay a little more than I did when it was just my husband and I. Common sense. And they don’t charge for pets. Make sure to reserve a site in advance, because the weekends do book fast for the on-river! Sites are very large!

They have a horse riding stable and will do pony rides for the children, a craft center to make and take home a memento, a nature center with programs for the children, and lots of canoeing and tubing! We just love it there!!! They have a showerhouse that has individual rooms with a sink/toilet/shower (cost 25 cents for a shower but you have the whole room to yourself as opposed to the other shower house that is one huge room with individual stalls for a shower and others for a toilet but are free). Also, they are very serious about their quiet hours and if there are any noisy neighbors, the management will take care of it pronto if you just make them aware of a problem. I don’t know what the other guys review was talking about because we see security patrolling each and every time we are there. (They patrol quietly and do stop to tell people to quiet down. We have also seen people kicked out for partying and being so loud as to bother their neighbors). Bravo Mohican Wilderness!!! Thank you for making a family friendly atmosphere in such a beautiful and peaceful place and allowing the public to come into your home to enjoy its beauty!

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

Date:

February 6, 2010

Camping here used to be fun times,quiet after 11pm as was promised with security team patrolling to insure all is well.
As of 2008,security gone.Loud parties,drunks.They advertise go elsewhere if you can't abide by the rules,problem is they don't enforce their rules.We have had items stolen,our tent peed on by drunks (they left a sign on our tent which read go to bathroom here)while we were canoing.
Yes we have complained,only comment was we are sorry but we don't patrol at night anymore.Great place to go if you party!! Bath and shower rooms stink,dirty. never again !!

Overall:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Scenery:
Summary:

Date:

September 2, 2008

This place nickel and dimes you to death. We were charged 44 dollars per night for a "river front" site that consisted of a huge ditch filled with trash and cement blocks between the river and our site. They charge for each extra adult over 2 and for each kid, pet, and vehicle. For a total of almost 170.00 dollars we got smelly latrines, cold showers, and treacherous roadways. They claim to have a 6 person per site maximum, but depending on who you are they bend the rules for certian individuals and we as a family had to be split up because we had 3 adults and 6 children. I will not be going back here.

  • jac
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

bathrooms were disgusting and at one shower house you had to pay and not at the other, they were both awful. The only thing going for this campground is that the sites are big and on the river.

Date:

July 28, 2008

Add Your Review

Please login to add your review.