CampRate.com

Salem Farms Campgrounds

Added by Brian owner

20 reviews

Follow:

Campground has a full snack bar and kitchen open weekends. Large menu and ice cream scoop shop daily featuring Farmers Cow Ice cream. Small petting area with two friendly goats and a donkey. We have two pools and two playgrounds, three sets of bathrooms with showers. We offer onsite rv repairs, rv parts including awning repairs and replacement. Guest are escorted to their site and if you need a cord or hose we lend them to you free. We sell fire wood from the park because we can not allow bug infested wood in due to state law. Our is wood local we sell by the tractor bucket delivered to your site, or a bundle delivered to your site. Wi-Fi on your site and TV on your site. 24 hr onsite manager and call box for emergencies. Visit our website for all our information and activity list. We have two TV channels dedicated to our weekend activity list for you and your families.



Email: sfcg2003@aol.com

Phone: 860-859-2320

Other Phone: 1-800-479-9238

Max RV Length: 45

Max Amps: 50/30/20

Check-in Time: 3:00 PM

Check-out Time: 2:00 PM

Latitude/Longitude: 41.500542 , -72.315188

Total Sites: 189

Camping Season: 5/1- Columbus day


Amenities

  • tenting
  • store
  • swimming pool
  • fishing
  • lp gas
  • modem connection
  • pullthrus
  • sewer hookups
  • laundry
  • other swimming
  • rentals
  • pets
  • cable tv
  • lodging
  • dump station
  • recreation hall
  • boating
  • group area
  • phone hookups
  • slideouts
  • wi-fi

Directions

From Hartford rte 2 east to rte 11 exit 5 right off ramp we are 7/10 of a mile on left. From waterford area 95 to rte 85 north to rotary rte 82 west to rte 11 exit 5 LEFT off ramp 9/10 of mile on left.


Reservation Info

call to reserve


Pet Policy

Pets on a leash welcome you can walk them just not on Rec. fields.


Campground Rules

See web site


Pricing Info

$30.00 to $50.00 a night, also back to back weekends, buy two night get 3rd free, and monthly specials.


Cancellation Policy

To obtain a refund, cancellation must be made at least seven days prior to arrival. A credit will be issued if canceled at least 48 hours prior to arrival. Less than 48 hours will result in forfeit of deposit. All refunds are subject to $15.00 handling charge. Refunds will not be given because of inclimate weather or conditions beyond our control. NO REFUNDS ON HOLIDAY WEEKENDS Prices are subject to change without notice.



Weather

Rain
Monday 01/23/2017 100%
Rain
Rain and wind. Lows overnight in the mid 30s.
Rain
Tuesday 01/24/2017 70%
Rain
Windy with showers early becoming a steady rain later in the day. High 42F. NNE winds at 20 to 30 mph, decreasing to 10 to 15 mph. Chance of rain 70%. Winds could occasionally gust over 40 mph.
Clear
Wednesday 01/25/2017 10%
Clear
Mostly sunny. High 48F. Winds WNW at 10 to 15 mph.
Chance of Rain
Thursday 01/26/2017 50%
Chance of Rain
Showers in the morning, then partly cloudy in the afternoon. High 48F. Winds W at 10 to 20 mph. Chance of rain 50%.
Mostly Cloudy
Friday 01/27/2017 10%
Mostly Cloudy
Partly cloudy skies in the morning will give way to cloudy skies during the afternoon. High 41F. Winds W at 10 to 20 mph.


Tell your friends


Reviews

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Date:

September 21, 2014

I have been to Salem farms campground we love it the staff is great the campers are friendly the price is good for everything offer activities keep our kids very busy also they have sporting equipment in their beautiful camp store for kids to use as well as a rec director they r very pet friendly I have been to many parks where I can't even walk my dog in the park I have to go to certain trails to walk them after reading other reviews I would have to disagree with many I also camped in a group with friends and for one we were asked to quiet down at 11 and we did because if you think about it my town has a noise ordinance and if I don't abide by it I get a written citation from the cops also working as an arborist I have plenty of wood I was not aloud to bring due to the Asian longhorn beetles many campground dis don't allow people to bring their firewood it's a 10,000$ fine just for transporting it across state lines if u get caught I would really just like to say if you are looking for a good time nice people and activities for your kids this is a great place to go me and my family try to go at least once a month and we have a blast every time so I believe some people really just don't like following rules and I don't think such a nice place should get slandered by poor judgement

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Date:

September 21, 2014

Discovered Salem Farms Campground a couple years ago. Found it to be clean, spacious sites, and staff very friendly and helpful. Real family oriented atmosphere. Great for just relaxing at your site or if you want to go exploring, there are plenty of things to do. Nearby attractions such as Mystic waterfront, The USS Nautilus, aquarium, and Casinos, all within a short drive. Obtained printed directions from the staff for all the locations that were easy to understand and follow. The owner and his 2 sons were constantly tending to things in the park and checking to see if we needed anything. Had such a good time we brought some fellow campers with us this year. They had a wonderful time as well and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the park and attention of the staff. Looking forward to going back next season.
Charles & Marie Haskins
Derry N.H.

  • Nuclear
  • Member Since: September 20, 2014
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Date:

September 20, 2014

We travel all over the country for work and stay at campgrounds for months at a time. This is one of my favorite campgrounds. Very family friendly especially for kids. They keep the camp clean, quite and "drunken " loud campers free. If you want a party place this is not it thank goodness. Not very convenient as far as grocery store etc. But do have a store on site for essentials and we prefer to have a sewer system. Family run business that cares about their campers. The sons and father are very helpful! Highly recommend! !

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Date:

September 16, 2014

I can honestly say why reviews don't work. Most reviews are written by customers, whom can't get along anywhere they go. The have a problem and are removed and go home and take to the computers. The old saying stands. I have camped at salem farms multiple times and never incountered this rude behavior for anyone on staff or off staff. The campground is very clean staff is friendly, we are escourted to our site EVERYTIME we come in. I also camp all over CT. MA. RI. I appericate it when management removes a nasty person beside us (sounds like this was the issue in the past review) this make our stay a pleasent one, yes it may cause a little sulking but in the end the campground thrives, and our children are not subjected to this garbage.

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

Date:

September 14, 2014

Rating a campground does not work. You see if you write a negative comment then the owner makes up a name logs in and makes the campground look perfect. It happens a lot. This family run campground may be that but friendly they are not. Owner is a jerk! He yells profanities at his own sons that work for him. his wife in office is the most unfriendly person I ever met at a campground check in. His daughter that was there is on a power trip. I went in to buy eggs, one was combing her long hair the other texting, sorry I was bothering them! place is not bad but with a family like this makes it worse. One son very nice, dark hair, facial hair. never spoke with other. I read the review from "fifthwheel Guy" I am convinced that it is the owner that wrote it! weirdest thing is that we hardly know him but he talks to us about personal stuff and makes remarks about his seasonal campers. If they only knew what he says about them. so much for honest reviews, I'm sure you will see a glowing review that contradicts this one because he will have a member of his family write it!!

Response from Salem Farms Campgrounds on December 12, 2014

Dear Allielyn1979 I pondered the response to this, but as I'm perplexed by your review of our family! So not one complaint by you just a bash of the family. You expect our customers to believe you camped for a weekend and were told all our personal info, and we sat with you and bashed our customers? NO Allie but I can tell you this when you lose a job, you learn from it and move on and when your paid in advance to do a job and don't perform you learn from it, instead of making up a name and bashing reviewers and a family that has zero time on a weekend to sit and chat about personal info, or do our hair etc. This is why reviews don't work. Good people enjoy camping and don't go home and write a review but trouble makers can't wait to get to their pc. When we are met with a complaint we rectify it, and work to make sure that person leaves happy.

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Date:

May 17, 2014

I am a seasonal here now on my second year. I can say its a shame the way people can cause an issue then go home and write a bunch of garbage about a hard working family who takes pride in their campground. I have been camping since 1978 and been to alot of places and picked Salem Farms for a long term stay. The park charges for the same services all the other places I've been, and prices are fair. I have spoken to alot of the seasonal campers here and they have told me this family has made alot of changes over the past 10 years, and (cleaned up ) the place. I can say I shows in the grounds, the snack bar,store,pools and bathrooms. If you want a user friendly place with nice seasonal people and owners who actully work in their business you will love this place.

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

excellent experience

Date:

August 24, 2012

We try to camp here a couple of times a summer and have been doing so for five years. The family that runs the campground aims to please! We always have a great time. Sadly, we had some pretty obnoxious neighbors this year. The owners tried to get them to play by the rules, and eventually had them leave. Ensuring that once again, we had a great experience here at Salem Farms. The kids love all the activities (especially the candy bar bingo). Would definitely recommend this campground to others.

  • martyp
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

seasonal

Date:

August 24, 2012

Ive camped here for years, this year no price increase, and less then 90% of camps. Firewood from local area welcome Im not local so i have to buy local. then recom. the family who sufferd a tagic loss this spring so Im glad to buy from them! Fireworks are not part of site fees so why expect it. This sounds like a person who should be at one fo those 4k a year places and complaining. Im very happy with the services this camp offers and will continue to camp here. These owners and family are here 24/7 working to make this camp a safe clean place to enjoy free of trouble. Rules are common sense if you don't have it, you should look into getting it.

  • NFD52
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Great place for family and friends

Date:

August 23, 2012

The reason I became seasonal was due to the fact everyone is friendly and there are rules. Being family run I believe it makes thing more personable than just a buisiness the owner operator and his family take pride in there facility. The seasonals and weekenders all intermingle there is no snobbyness. If you complain about the rules its because you dont follow them or havent been to a place that has them. The kids are safe and the owner and staff know exactly who belongs and who doesnt and I think that is the best thing for our childrens safety. Some people take offence when they are questioned or talked to but the bottom line is if you are respectful to everyone there is no issue and some people bitch about favoritism well there isnt but you need to understand wear friendship ends and business prevails if you cant handle both follow the rules and keep tp your self.

  • robo
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

great family place

Date:

August 21, 2012

I camped here in august, great bang for the buck. The staff is always friendly. Firewood in bulk by the bucket, lots stuff for kids to do, very busy on weekends. The owners are on site and very hands of and friendly. I did read a couple false reviews but thats what unrulel people do write false reviews.

  • Freddie
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

unfair money hungry

Date:

June 19, 2012

I went to this campground because i have friends that are seasonal. The campground is nice, except unfair rules. Seems like all rules are not for everyone just certain people, the owner truly has favorites.
#1 pet friendly? My friend has 2 loveable dogs, I camped with my dog as well the campground is pet friendly only if you keep your pet off all grass. there is a huge field but yoiur dog can't go near it.
#2 Wood you have to buy your wood from the qwner. unless you are a special friend then you can bring in a truck load.
#3 everything costs extra, if your kids want to attend a craft program to make a paper craft they charge $.
movie night for kids but popcorn is not free.
#4 womens bathroom doors do not lock. Mens have eye hooks.
#5 owner strange fellow, sometimes friendly other times watch out!
#6 my friend just emailed me every year owner puts on a july 4th display says this year he cannot afford to. wants campers to pay. note he gets $2500 or more from each camper that season there.
#7 no sewer so they pump you out, don't forget to sign up or they will hit you with a big charge. STAY AWAY!

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

ghost town

Date:

May 9, 2012

not a bad place, needs a little TLC, bathrooms could be cleaner. place is like a ghost town Mon-Thursday. great weekend place but don't look for anything going on during week. there is always TV, except they have limited channels.
some rules are too strict, they are surely looking to make a quick buck, charging extra for little things.
If you are looking for a family camping spot for weekends only then you will like Salem Farms.

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

great place for family and friends

Date:

September 11, 2011

I camped at Salem Farms Campground for ten years prior to the new ownership in 2003 the new owners are wonderful they have done an excellent job cleaning up the park and making it a safe and family orriented enviroment. The campground is family owned and opperated, they take great pride in helping their campers from the time they get in the office to the time they get on their site and fully hooked up for their stay they have several planned activities for kids of all ages including special event weekends such as holidays the staff is all very friendly and willing to help as much as they can to make your stay at the campground fun and memorable

Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

overall nice except for "creepy guy" that lives there

Date:

September 5, 2011

spent the weekend with friends, a real creepy looking unbathed guy walks around stares at people, I woke up Sunday AM and there he was outside our site staring. He says he lives at campground with his kids, I did see him pushing a stroller.
bathroom needs a little TLC, otherwise a nice place.

  • coleen
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Love this place, would not go anywhere else!

Date:

August 24, 2011

My family and I have been camping at this campground for the past 8 years with a exception of a two year period when our youngest daughter was born. Our first season there was also the owner's first season. This business is family owned and are always available to their "campers". They take great pride in providing a clean, safe and enjoyable enviornment for all who come. This campground is family oriented and is a second home to both of my children who are 5 and 11 years old. This park has come a very long way in the past 8 years!! There are many activies provided for children such as hay rides, arts and crafts, scavenger hunts, candy bingo, mini golf, basketball, swimming, tennis, dodgeball, water hay rides, teen socials, ping pong, pool, video games, and other scheduled activities like adult vs kids kick ball l!!!! They also provide and encourage participation for holiday celebrations during the season such as The 4th of July, Christmas with Santa, Halloween trick or treating, New Years Eve Party and much much more. They also have a DJ's or live bands EVERY saturday night from 7:30pm - 10:30pm. My children, husband and myself have made lifelong friendships that continue to grow. I would recommend this campground to all "campers" that are interested in making fond memories with their families.

@ mickeydag.... I too have camped here for many years. It is hard for me to understand that your experience was that bad. I mean, with all due respect, you camped under the current ownership for 8 years if you were seasonal for 12. If I was not happy, I personally would not have even stayed for more than one season. There is no "dictatorship" but common sense rules like every other campground in the country. I too am a business owner, of a child care center, and take my children's safety and well being seriously. This family is on top of their game and is fully invested in working at offering the best camping experiences anyone can offer. Good luck with your future camping endeavors, hopefully you will find a campground that fits your individual needs.

  • martyp
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

came from down the st.

Date:

August 23, 2011

I camped in another campground close by, I enjoy this campground and the clean friendly enviroment. So when I heard about this mickey whom was thrown out of Witch Meadow and cam e here I had to resopond. His history speaks for itsself, Try this place my famil enjoys every weekend, will now enjoy it even more.

  • robo
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Activities:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Family Friendly:
Hospitality:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Price:
Scenery:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

seasonal

Date:

August 22, 2011

I heard about this Mickeys review and had to write in. This campground is a wonderful place and we regret not making a formal complaint about this guy who swore and ket us up all hours of the night with his drunken behavior. Two of us (familes) left this campground for another in CT because of this neighbor. This campground has been cleaned up and guys like this they don't need, try it, they are a genuine hard working all american family.

www.salemfarmscampground.com

Overall:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Location:
Pet Friendly:
Summary:

Save your money

Date:

August 18, 2011

5 years ago the park was sold.90% of the seasonal campers were there for 7-10 years or more. The new owner has driven out all the seasonals that were there. Through camping shows and advertising he was able to refill most of the sites. The new campers soon find out that the owner is more of a dictator than a landlord. They leave after 1 or 2 seasons. As a business owner myself, we rate our overall performance on our ability to make a customer happy and rely on repeat business. This individual has a very poor record and continues to make his customers believe that he is doing them a favor by letting them camp on his dirt farm. All the staff is family and aside from his lovely wife, they are all as rude as he is. Too bad he ruined a place where people actually looked forward to going to.

Response from Salem Farms Campgrounds on December 12, 2014

Mickey, its a shame that after years of camping and inviting my wife and I to dinner etc. You refused to supply insurance a certificate for your golf cart, and became so belligerent the state police had to be notified. We did our best to deal with your vulgar mouth and you and Diane's constant fights. Lets be real we took you in after you were throw out of the campground down the street.

  • diana
  • Member Since: November 20, 2012
  • #
Overall:
Bathroom Cleanliness:
Overall Cleanliness:
Insects and Bugs:
Location:
Price:
Scenery:
Summary:

the people who work there a RUDE!

Date:

August 19, 2009

I would not go back to salem again It's worth it to pay more the kids didnt have much to do! when we got there the people who work there are very rude.

Overall:
Coming Back:Yes
Summary:

Date:

December 23, 2006

Add Your Review

Please login to add your review.